San Diego Bowl Game Association Hall of Fame Inducts First SDCCU Poinsettia Bowl Participant

on .

2013 hof 610The San Diego Bowl Game Association added three members to its Hall of Fame at a luncheon at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront Wednesday. Inductees included: Kyle Basler (Washington State, punter, Holiday Bowl 2003), Reggie Campbell (Navy, running back, Poinsettia Bowl 2005, '07) and Richard Circuit (Board of Directors 1986-present, Holiday Bowl president 1994).

Kyle Basler (Washington State, 2003 Holiday Bowl) Basler, WSU's punter, created problems for the Texas special teams unit all night on his way to becoming the only punter in Holiday Bowl history to earn Defensive Most Valuable Player honors in 2003. While his team struggled to score points in the first half, he kept them in the game by dominating the field-position battle, consistently pinning Texas deep in their own territory. By the end of the game, Basler had punted seven times for 281 yards (40.1 yard average), and landed five punts inside his opponent's 13-yard line. His fifth punt of the evening, and first of the fourth quarter, ended up putting the game out of reach as he pinned the Longhorns at their own four-yard line, and in the ensuing Texas drive, the Cougar defense forced a holding call in the endzone for a safety to put WSU up 28-13. WSU finished with a 28-20 victory over the Longhorns.

Reggie Campbell (Navy, 2005 Poinsettia Bowl) Launching the SDCCU Poinsettia Bowl onto the bowl season map in its inaugural year, Campbell, a running back, put his name in the record books as he led the Midshipmen to a 51-30 victory over Colorado State. After his team trailed at the end of the first quarter, Campbell took over the game as he tallied 116 yards rushing, 89 yards receiving, and an NCAA-record tying five touchdowns (3 rushing, 2 receiving). Campbell's record-setting night earned him the game's Offensive Most Valuable Player award. Campbell would return once more to the Poinsettia Bowl with Navy in 2007, where he would set yet another bowl record, this time recording the longest run from scrimmage (44 yards), a record that still stands today.

Richard K. Circuit (Board of Directors, 1986-present) Circuit has been a volunteer of the San Diego Bowl Game Association since 1978 and a member of the Board of Directors for almost three decades. He served as president of the Holiday Bowl in 1994, and since his presidency, Circuit has spent the past 20 years as an active member of the board of directors, serving as chair of the Legal Committee and National Strategy Committee. He has been the lead negotiator for every conference agreement, title sponsor contract, and television network contract for the past three decades. He was also intimately involved in the presentation that led to the certification of San Diego's second bowl game, the San Diego County Credit Union Poinsettia Bowl.

The San Diego Bowl Game Association selects Hall of Fame inductees on a bi-annual basis. The other 29 members of the Holiday Bowl Hall of Fame are:

Major Applewhite, Texas (2001), quarterback, inducted 2011
Bobby Bell, Missouri (1983) defensive end, inducted 1995
Robbie Bosco, BYU (1984) quarterback, inducted 1997
Clay Brown, BYU (1978-80) tight end, inducted 1993
Ty Detmer, BYU (1989-91) quarterback, inducted 2001
LaVell Edwards, BYU (1978-84, 1989-91, 1993) head coach, inducted 1993
Hayden Fry, Iowa (1986-87, 1991) head coach, inducted 1995
Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State (1988) quarterback, inducted 2003
Darran Hall, Colorado State (1997) wide receiver, inducted 2007
Joey Harrington, Oregon (2000), quarterback, inducted 2011
Raymont Harris, Ohio State (1993) running back, inducted 2003
Craig James, SMU (1980) running back, inducted 1997
Brian Kavanagh, Kansas State (1995), inducted 2005
Herb Klein, Holiday Bowl president (1987), inducted 2009
Les Land, Holiday Bowl's first executive director (1978), inducted 2003
Sonny Lubick, Colorado State (1994-95, 1997) head coach, inducted 2009
Phil McConkey, Navy (1978) wide receiver, inducted 1993
Jim McMahon, BYU (1978, 1980-81) quarterback, inducted 1993
Bart Oates, BYU (1980-82) center, inducted 2005
John Reid, Holiday Bowl executive director (1980-2000), inducted 2001
Bucky Richardson, Texas A&M (1990) quarterback, inducted 2001
Tony Roberts, Holiday Bowl national radio announcer (1979-2004), inducted 2005
Barry Sanders, Oklahoma State (1988) running back, inducted 1999
Bill Snyder, Kansas State (1995, 1999, 2002) head coach, inducted 2007
Tim Spencer, Ohio State (1982) running back, inducted 1995
G.E. "Vinnie" Vinson, Holiday Bowl founder, first president in 1978 and '79, inducted 2011
Leon White, BYU (1982-84) linebacker, inducted 2001
Kyle Whittingham, BYU (1978-81), linebacker, inducted 2009
Steve Young, BYU (1982-83) quarterback, inducted 1995

The SDBGA is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization and has a mission of generating tourism, exposure, economic benefit and civic pride for San Diego and its citizens by producing the nation's most exciting bowl games and festival of events.

The 2013 SDCCU Poinsettia Bowl is set for 6:30 p.m.,Thursday, Dec. 26. The Holiday Bowl kicks off at 7:15 p.m., Monday, Dec. 30. Both games will be played at Qualcomm Stadium and will be televised nationally on ESPN.

For more information, visit and
Poinsettia Bowl on Facebook Poinsettia Bowl on Twitter Poinsettia Bowl App Poinsettia Bowl YouTube

Terms of Use & Privacy Policy   |   FAQ   |   RedCoat Center   |   Site Map   |   Contact Us

© 2012 :: The Official Website
The San Diego County Credit Union Poinsettia Bowl is a sponsored activity of the City of San Diego,
County of San Diego, Port of San Diego, and the San Diego Tourism Marketing District.

All team names and logos are registered trademarks of the teams and companies indicated.
No logos, photographs or graphics on this site may be reproduced without written permission. All rights reserved.
Website development and web hosting
by Brand5, a division of The Five Eight Group, Inc.